A Complete List of All 78 Tarot Cards & Their Meanings

78 Tarot Cards

The world of tarot cards is captivating and mysterious, offering seekers a unique tool for self-reflection, guidance, and insight. Tarot decks consist of 78 cards, each with its symbolism and interpretation. Whether you’re a seasoned reader or just beginning to explore the realm of tarot, understanding the meanings behind each card is essential. In this comprehensive guide, we will unveil the intricate symbolism and interpretations of all 78 tarot cards, providing you with a valuable resource for your tarot journey.

The Major Arcana:

The tarot deck is divided into two sections: the Major Arcana and the Minor Arcana. The Major Arcana consists of 22 cards, representing significant life events and archetypal energies. These cards often hold deep spiritual and transformative meanings.

1. The Fool meaning: New beginnings, spontaneity, taking risks.

2. The Magician meaning: Manifestation, power, creativity.

3. The High Priestess meaning: Intuition, mystery, inner wisdom.

4. The Empress meaning: Fertility, abundance, nurturing.

5. The Emperor meaning: Authority, leadership, structure.

6. The Hierophant meaning: Tradition, spirituality, guidance.

7. The Lovers meaning: Love, partnerships, choices.

8. The Chariot meaning: Determination, willpower, victory.

9. Strength meaning: Inner strength, courage, compassion.

10. The Hermit meaning: Solitude, self-reflection, guidance.

11. Wheel of Fortune meaning: Destiny, cycles, opportunities.

12. Justice meaning: Balance, fairness, truth.

13. The Hanged Man meaning: Surrender, new perspectives, sacrifice.

14. Death meaning: Transformation, endings, rebirth.

15. Temperance meaning: Moderation, harmony, patience.

16. The Devil meaning: Temptation, bondage, materialism.

17. The Tower meaning: Sudden change, upheaval, revelation.

18. The Star meaning: Hope, inspiration, healing.

19. The Moon meaning: Intuition, illusion, subconscious.

20. The Sun meaning: Joy, success, vitality.

21. Judgment meaning: Rebirth, awakening, inner calling.

22. The World meaning: Completion, fulfillment, wholeness.

The Minor Arcana:

The Minor Arcana consists of four suits: Wands, Cups, Swords, and Pentacles. Each suit corresponds to specific aspects of life and carries its own set of meanings and themes. The Minor Arcana focuses on everyday experiences and the challenges and joys encountered on our journey.

Minor Arcana – Wands:

Ace of Wands meaning: New opportunities, creative spark, potential.

Two of Wands meaning: Future planning, decisions, personal power.

Three of Wands meaning: Expansion, progress, collaboration.

Four of Wands meaning: Celebration, harmony, milestones.

Five of Wands meaning: Conflict, competition, challenges.

Six of Wands meaning: Victory, recognition, self-confidence.

Seven of Wands meaning: Courage, resilience, standing up for oneself.

Eight of Wands meaning: Swift action, momentum, travel.

Nine of Wands meaning: Resilience, perseverance, inner strength.

Ten of Wands meaning: Burden, responsibilities, completion.

Minor Arcana – Cups:

Ace of Cups meaning: Emotional fulfillment, new relationships, love.

Two of Cups meaning: Connection, harmony, partnership.

Three of Cups meaning: Celebration, friendship, joy.

Four of Cups meaning: Contemplation, apathy, missed opportunities.

Five of Cups meaning: Loss, disappointment, grief.

Six of Cups meaning: Nostalgia, childhood memories, innocence.

Seven of Cups meaning: Choices, dreams, illusions.

Eight of Cups meaning: Letting go, moving on, seeking deeper meaning.

Nine of Cups meaning: Contentment, emotional satisfaction, wishes fulfilled.

Ten of Cups meaning: Emotional fulfillment, harmony, family.

Minor Arcana – Swords

Ace of Swords meaning: Mental clarity, new ideas, truth.

Two of Swords meaning: Indecision, stalemate, difficult choices.

Three of Swords meaning: Heartbreak, sorrow, grief.

Four of Swords meaning: Rest, recuperation, reflection.

Five of Swords meaning: Conflict, manipulation, deceit.

Six of Swords meaning: Transition, moving on, finding peace.

Seven of Swords meaning: Deception, betrayal, hidden agendas.

Eight of Swords meaning: Restriction, self-imposed limitations, feeling trapped.

Nine of Swords meaning: Anxiety, worry, nightmares.

Ten of Swords meaning: Painful endings, rock bottom, transformation.

Minor Arcana – Pentacles

Ace of Pentacles meaning: New beginnings, material abundance, prosperity.

Two of Pentacles meaning: Balance, adaptability, juggling priorities.

Three of Pentacles meaning: Collaboration, teamwork, craftsmanship.

Four of Pentacles meaning: Stability, security, possessiveness.

Five of Pentacles meaning: Hardship, financial loss, isolation.

Six of Pentacles meaning: Generosity, charity, balance.

Seven of Pentacles meaning: Patience, perseverance, investment.

Eight of Pentacles meaning: Dedication, skill development, craftsmanship.

Nine of Pentacles meaning: Self-sufficiency, luxury, independence.

Ten of Pentacles meaning: Legacy, abundance, family wealth.

Insights and Takeaways

In conclusion, the 78 tarot cards hold a wealth of symbolism and meaning, offering valuable insights into various aspects of our lives. Whether you seek guidance on love, career, personal growth, or spiritual matters, tarot cards can serve as a powerful tool for self-discovery. Remember that while this list provides a foundation for understanding the cards, interpretations can vary based on context and intuition.

If you’re new to tarot reading, starting with the simple tarot card meanings can help you grasp the essence of each card. However, as you progress on your tarot journey, feel free to explore deeper layers of interpretation and develop your unique relationship with the cards.

Embrace the wisdom of the tarot and let it guide you on your path to self-awareness and personal transformation. May your journey be filled with clarity, growth, and profound insights as you unlock the secrets of the tarot deck.

Total Views: 93 ,